National Film Registry Entries

View Comments
Ralphie in scene from "A Christmas Story"

Peter Billingsley as Ralphie in scene from “A Christmas Story”, selected for National Film Registry of the Library of Congress, Courtesy of Warner Home Video via US Library of Congress (AP)

Twenty-five films that were made between 1897 to 1999, have been chosen this year for inclusion in the National Film Registry, including the Clint Eastwood vigilante drama Dirty Harry, the groundbreaking sci-fi flick The Matrix, the Audrey Hepburn classic Breakfast at Tiffany’s, the 1980s holiday fan-favorite A Christmas Story and others that bring the total number of deserving films to 600.

Under the National Film Preservation Act of 1988, films have to be at least 10 years old to be considered and must be “culturally, historically or aesthetically” significant. Annual selections are finalized by Billington after reviewing films that have been nominated by the public.

Films selected to the 2012 National Film Registry:

  • 3:10 to Yuma (1957)
  • Anatomy of a Murder (1959)
  • The Augustas (1930s-50s)
  • Born Yesterday (1950)
  • Breakfast at Tiffany’s (1961)
  • A Christmas Story (1983)
  • The Corbett-Fitzsimmons Title Fight (1897)
  • Dirty Harry (1971)
  • Hours for Jerome: Parts 1 and 2 (1980-82)
  • The Kidnappers Foil (1930s-50s)
  • Kodachrome Color Motion-Picture Tests (1922)
  • A League of Their Own (1992)
  • The Matrix (1999)
  • The Middleton Family at the New York World’s Fair (1939)
  • One Survivor Remembers (1995)
  • Parable (1964)
  • Samsara: Death and Rebirth in Cambodia (1990)
  • Slacker (1991)
  • Sons of the Desert (1933)
  • The Spook Who Sat by the Door (1973)
  • They Call It Pro Football (1967)
  • The Times of Harvey Milk (1984)
  • Two-Lane Blacktop (1971)
  • Uncle Tom’s Cabin (1914)
  • The Wishing Ring; An Idyll of Old England (1914)

Learn more at The National Film Registry.

View Comments
blog comments powered by Disqus

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 28,182 other followers