Chris Paul named to NBA All-Defensive First Team

View Comments
L.A. Clippers' Chris Paul (Photo credit: Clippers/NBA)

L.A. Clippers’ Chris Paul (Photo credit: Clippers/NBA)

The National Basketball Association announced today that Los Angeles Clippers’ All-Star point guard Chris Paul has been named to the NBA All-Defensive First Team.  Paul garnered a total of 37 points (15 first place votes, seven second place votes) to make the first team for the second consecutive year.

Joining Paul on the NBA All-Defensive First Team are forward LeBron James of the Miami Heat (52 points), forward Serge Ibaka of the Oklahoma City Thunder (46 points), guard Tony Allen of the Memphis Grizzlies (53 points), center Tyson Chandler of the New York Knicks (24 points) and center Joakim Noah of the Chicago Bulls (24 points).

Paul led the NBA in steals per game (2.41 spg) for the third straight year and the fifth time in the last six seasons.  This marks the third time Paul has been named to the All-Defensive First Team (2012 and 2009).  Paul was also named to the NBA All-Defensive Second Team in 2011 and 2008. He is the only Clipper in franchise history to be named to the All-Defensive Team.

The NBA All-Defensive Second Team consists of guards Avery Bradley of the Boston Celtics and Mike Conley of the Memphis Grizzlies, center Marc Gasol of the Memphis Grizzlies, and forwards Tim Duncan of the San Antonio Spurs and Paul George of the Indiana Pacers.

Clippers guard Eric Bledsoe garnered one second place vote. He averaged career-highs of 1.4 steals and 0.7 blocks this season for the team.

The voting panel consisted of the NBA’s 30 head coaches, who were asked to select NBA All-Defensive First and Second Teams by position. Coaches were not permitted to vote for players from their own team.  Two points were awarded for a First Team vote and one point was awarded for a Second Team vote.

See the team list here.

View Comments
blog comments powered by Disqus

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 28,185 other followers