Spacecraft with American, 2 Russians blasts off

View Comments
U.S. astronaut Michael Hopkins, Russian cosmonauts Oleg Kotov and Sergey Ryazanskiy, crew members of the mission to the International Space Station, ISS, speak with their families prior the launch of Soyuz-FG  rocket at the Russian leased Baikonur cosmodrome, Kazakhstan, Thursday, Sept. 26, 2013.  (AP Photo/Dmitry Lovetsky, Pool)

U.S. astronaut Michael Hopkins, Russian cosmonauts Oleg Kotov and Sergey Ryazanskiy, crew members of the mission to the International Space Station, ISS, speak with their families prior the launch of Soyuz-FG rocket at the Russian leased Baikonur cosmodrome, Kazakhstan, Thursday, Sept. 26, 2013. (AP Photo/Dmitry Lovetsky, Pool)

L.A.'s Afternoon News: Maggie McKay and Michael Shappee
Read More

MOSCOW (AP) — A Soyuz spacecraft carrying two Russians and an American has lifted off from the Baikonur Cosmodrome, soaring into the night sky for a six-hour trip to the International Space Station.

Seated inside the cramped capsule were NASA’s Michael Hopkins and Russian cosmonauts Oleg Kotov and Sergei Ryazansky, who are to orbit the Earth four times before docking at the orbiting outpost, where they will spend six months conducting a variety of experiments.

Live coverage provided by NASA TV showed the launch went off as scheduled shortly before 1 a.m. Moscow time on Thursday (2100GMT, 5 p.m. EDT Wednesday) at the cosmodrome, which Russia leases in Kazakhstan.

 

Copyright 2013 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

View Comments
blog comments powered by Disqus